Critical reflection

When I was 16 I bought my first DSLR camera Canon 600D. It was pretty awesome back in 2011 to have this camera as the first one. I thought that more expensive means automatically better results. First few months I felt cool to take my camera everywhere and shoot all events I could. I was not using manual mode and definitely not RAW format because every time I tried to take photos in manual mode the outcome looked horrible. JPG format of photos on Automatic mode looked definitely better. I was lazy to read instructions to learn how to work with DSLR properly in manual mode.

After two years of my “free style” photographing my aunt asked me if I could photo shoot her wedding. I was convinced that I can’t do bad photos because I have DSLR camera, my comfort Automatic mode and months of “practice”.

On the wedding day, it turned up I was not the only photographer there. Luckily, there was my aunt’s friend Robert who decided to take his camera with himself and shoot as a support photographer. Surprisingly, it appeared that he was better in photo shooting and when I failed in my preparation and had discharged batteries and missed some important moments he pictured them. My final photos did not look as awesome as I expected at all and while editing I had limited options due to JPG format. I felt really bad for ruining memories of this special day my family had.

,,The worst part is that most of the people who own a DSLR have no real knowledge of how to properly use their device, but just because they own one, their entire posse exalts them to the level of some great photographer.” (Munshi, 2011)

For a while I did not want to use my camera at all. I was afraid of making bad pictures again. I hadn’t had anyone around me who could teach me to work with this camera.

I found out that I am not the only person who was overexcited by having DSLR camera and ignoring that you have to learn basics if you do not want to end with rubbish photos and gave it up. Henri Cartier-Bresson says:

,,Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst.” (Bresson, online)

and this quote helped me to take my camera again. I set up a new starting point avoiding the old bad habits. Slowly, step by step I learned to use camera with manual mode. Suddenly, my photos started to look good.

 

 

References:

Munshi, O. (2011). Buying a DSLR doesn’t make you a photographer. [online] Blogs.tribune.com.pk. Available at: https://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/7860/buying-a-dslr-doesnt-make-you-a-photographer/ [Accessed 3 Nov. 2018].

Carter-Bresson, H. (2018). A quote by Henri Cartier-Bresson. [online] Goodreads.com. Available at: https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/266224-your-first-10-000-photographs-are-your-worst [Accessed 4 Nov. 2018].

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started